EIC reveals 2019 Hall of Leaders inductees and Pacesetter award winners

i By August 2, 2019 No Comments

The Events Industry Council (EIC) has announced the names of its 2019 Hall of Leaders inductees and Pacesetter award winners.

The Hall of Leaders recognition program celebrates a lifetime of achievement by meetings and events leaders. This year’s inductees join 131 previous honourees who have had an integral role in shaping the industry. They  are:

  • Michael Dominguez, CHSE, President and Chief Executive Officer, ALHI (Nominated by Events Industry Council Board of Directors)
  • David DuBois, CMP, CAE, FASAE, CTA, President and Chief Executive Officer, IAEE (Nominated by International Association of Exhibitions and Events)
  • Anne Daly Heller, Publisher, USAE (Nominated by Searchwide Global)
  • Carole McKellar, MA, CMM, Vice-president EMEA, HelmsBriscoe (Nominated by Meeting Professionals International)
  • Barry Smith, CMA, Executive Director, Convention Centres Canada (Nominated by International Association of Venue Managers)
  • Ellsworth Milton Statler (posthumously), Owner, Statler Hotels (Nominated by USAE)

The Pacesetter Awards recognize the valuable contributions individuals are making to impact the events industry today, as well as charting the course for a thriving future. The 2019 Pacesetter Award recipients are:

  • Young Professional | Robyn Davis, Trade Show Strategy Specialist, WINH (Nominated by Robyn Davis)
  • Sustainability and Social Responsibility | Desirée Knight, CAE, CMP, Director, Education and Meetings, AREMA (Nominated by The Kilman Group)
  • Sustainability and Social Responsibility | Chance Thompson, Senior Manager, Sustainability and Public Relations, Salt Palace Convention Centre (Nominated by AZano, Inc.)
  • Innovation | Frank Yang, PMP, CMP, CEM, Director, Convention Marketing, KINTEX (Nominated by International Congress and Convention Association)

“These distinguished industry pioneers and emerging leaders demonstrate a deep commitment and passion to advancing the events industry in meaningful ways. Steeped in more than three decades of history, these recognitions celebrate the individuals who have redefined our industry and left an impactful legacy. This year’s esteemed inductees exemplify the influence, altruism and innovation commensurate of this renowned recognition. We are privileged to welcome them into the prestigious group of past honourees and celebrate the collective contributions of all our Hall of Leaders,” says Amy Calvert, CEO, Events Industry Council. “This year’s Pacesetter Award winners represent a group of emerging leaders in the events industry with a steadfast commitment to innovation and sustainability. We are thrilled that the selection committee decided to award two Sustainability and Social Responsibility Awards in 2019. This decision reflects the Events Industy Council’s desire and commitment to establishing a unified voice to drive significant change.”

The EIC will recognize these individuals at its 2019 Hall of Leaders and Pacesetter Awards Celebration on September 10, 2019 at LIGHT Nightclub at MGM’s Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Tickets and information available at eventscouncil.org/hall-of-leaders-celebration.)

About Events Industry Council

The Events Industry Council is comprised of more than 30 member organizations, representing over 103,500 individuals and 19,500 firms and properties involved in the events industry. Its vision is to be the global champion for event professionals and event industry excellence. EIC promotes high standards and professionalism in the events industry with its Certified Meeting Professional (CMP) program and its four signature programs (Sustainability, Industry Insights, Knowledge and Leadership).