SITE Celebrates Incentive Travel Excellence at Bangkok Conference

i By January 31, 2019 No Comments

The Society for Incentive Travel Excellence (SITE) celebrated outstanding incentive travel programs and exceptional chapter and individual contributions at its 2019 Global Conference.

Seventeen awards were given out at the conference, which was held January 11-14 at the Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok, Thailand.

The celebration started with the presentation of the SITE Crystal Awards, the association’s recognition program honouring organizations that delivered exceptional programs for participants and measurable results for clients.

In Bangkok, seven companies were honoured for creativity in program design, marketing, corporate social responsibility and business results. The 2018 Crystal Award winners are:

CATEGORY | Excellence in Incentive Travel ‒ North America

WINNER | PRA Orlando

PROGRAM | Major High-Tech Firm Elite Event

CATEGORY | Most Impactful Effort Toward Corporate Social Responsibility as Part of an Incentive Program

WINNER | CWT Meetings & Events with PRA

PROGRAM | 3M Corporate Social Responsibility Program

CATEGORY | Best Destination-Based Experiential Incentive Travel Program

WINNER | Destinos India working with Global Agency

PROGRAM | Salad Master India 2018 Master Dealer Conference

CATEGORY | Excellence in Incentive Travel ‒ Latin America & Caribbean

WINNER | ECO Destination Management Services of Aruba and Curacao

PROGRAM | 30 Years of Partnership

CATEGORY | Excellence in Incentive Travel ‒ Asia/Pacific

WINNER | Meridican Incentive Consultants

PROGRAM | US Foods President’s Cup 2017

CATEGORY | Excellence in Incentive Travel ‒ Europe

WINNER | Ovation Global DMCOvation Switzerland

PROGRAM | Michelin Premium Driving Experience – Grand Tour of Switzerland

CATEGORY | Excellence in Incentive Travel ‒ Africa/Middle East

WINNER | Walthers Destination Business Solutions Africa

PROGRAM | SKODA UK Retailer of the Year

The association also recognized individual members and chapter organizations that have made exceptional contributions to the association and the incentive travel industry at large. The 2018 winners are:

  • Member of the Year | WINNERBenoit Sauvage, DMCP, CMP, CIS, CEO Connect DMC: This award is presented to a volunteer who has left an indelible mark on SITE throughout the year. Sauvage was honoured for working year-round to grow and promote SITE while working as the CEO of Connect DMC, located in the Dominican Republic and Mexico, with offices in Punta Cana, Santo Domingo and Los Cabos. A certified Sustainable Event Professional, he is a member of the SITE Global and Events Industry Council sustainability committees and a winner of the IMEX Green Award. In addition, he is president of the SITE Caribbean & Florida chapter.
  • Kevin Forde Spirit Award | WINNERKrzysztof Michniewicz, CIS, President, ICP Group: This award is given each year to a SITE member who exemplifies the traits Kevin Forde was known and respected for: generosity of time and energy for his fellow incentive travel professionals and volunteer roles. A past Crystal Award Winner, Michniewicz is president of the board, ICP Group S.A., Warsaw, Poland.
  • Richard Ross Past-President’s Award | WINNERSteve O’Malley, Division President, Maritz Travel, St. Louis, Missouri: This award is presented by the SITE past presidents in memory of past president and long-time member Richard Ross, who died in the September 11 terrorist attacks in New York City. It recognizes an individual or organization that has furthered the vision, ideals and ethics of SITE. O’Malley is passionate about the meetings and incentive travel industry and helping transform people and business through the event experience. He is the 2019 chair of MPI’s International Board of Directors.
  • David Riddell Memorial Scholarship | WINNERSSandra Fahy, Corporate and Incentive, Dublin Convention Bureau, Ireland; Yingzhe Zhao, student, The Australia National University, Canberra, Australia: This award was created in memory of SITE past president David Riddell to provide an opportunity for worthy individuals to attend the annual conference. Fahy and Zhao were selected by the SITE Foundation for their enthusiasm and dedication to developing themselves as well as the future of the incentive travel industry.
  • Chapter of the Year | WINNERSITE Canada
  • Excellence in Education | WINNERSITE Southern California
  • Excellence in Special Event | WINNERSITE Chicago
  • Excellence in Membership | WINNERSITE Ireland
  • Excellence in Young Leaders | WINNERSITE Chicago

SITE’s 2020 Global Conference will be held next January in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.