PCMA Foundation Honours Business Events Leaders at Visionary Awards

i By May 8, 2019 No Comments

Photos (top of page) Visionary Awards 2019, Ballroom, Marriott Marquis Washington, D.C. Photo © PCMA Foundation. (above) Top row from left to right, Greg Bogue, Christine Faiman, Jennifer Gardner. Bottom row from left to right, Janet Cooper, Senthil Gopinath, Elisa Sandoval Wong.

More than 1,000 business events professionals gathered to celebrate the three Lifetime Achievement Honorees and six 2019 PCMA Professional Excellence Award winners honoured at PCMA Foundation’s 2019 Visionary Awards, held May 7th at the Marriott Marquis Washington D.C.

“In our fast-paced and demanding industry, it is important to take a breath, acknowledge and celebrate those who go the extra mile to elevate their organization and the business events industry,” said Meredith Rollins, Chief Community Officer for PCMA. “The Visionary Awards, from the red carpet to the awards stage, is our way of providing special accolades to excellence in the global business meetings and events industry.”

The 2019 event was held in partnership with Visit Austin and Austin Convention Center. All Visionary Award proceeds benefit the PCMA Foundation, which empowers professionals and advances innovations in the business events industry.

The celebration honoured three Lifetime Achievement Honorees announced in December 2018 along with all 18 Professional Excellence Finalists. They are:

  • Business Events Strategist Chris Wehking, association and business relations executive, American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA)
  • Supplier Eduardo Chaillo, CEO, Global Meetings & Tourism Specialist
  • Educator Lauren Kramer, founder and principal, Meeting Priorities

The 2019 PCMA Professional Excellence Award winners are:

Senthil Gopinath, CEO of ICCA, as Business Events Strategist of the Year – This award honours a PCMA professional member who exemplifies professional excellence in their contributions to their organization, PCMA and the business events community. Gopinath has created more than 17 self-sustaining events in seven countries within the Middle East as he strives to elevate awareness of the business events industry in the region. He’s a creative, passionate and adaptive strategist who is also a respected leader and mentor.

Finalists for the award: Heather M. Seasholtz, CMP, director of meetings and events, Talley Management Group Inc.; and Stacey Thorp, executive director, conferences & events, Freeman.

Greg Bogue, Chief Experience Architect of Maritz Global Events, as Supplier of the Year – This award honors a PCMA supplier member who exemplifies professional excellence in contributions to his or her organization, PCMA and the business events community. Bogue leverages his more than 30 years of experience to improve the guest experience in meetings, events and incentive travel programs to create better value for both organizations and guests. He encourages clients to think outside the box and never backs down from a challenge.

Finalists for the award: Carrie Ferenac, co-founder and president, CNTV; and Mike O’Neil, executive vice president, delivery corporate and agency services, Freeman.

Christine Faiman, CMP, global account executive, Marriott International, as Community Advocate – This award honours a PCMA member in the business events industry who has developed and managed a unique and impactful program benefiting the community in which his or her meeting was held. Faiman is a tireless champion for the business events industry with a focus on inspiring others in the profession. She was instrumental in creating the PCMA Capital Chapter Flagship Internship Program from vetting candidates to recruiting professional mentors.

Finalists for the award: Jennifer Bond, CMP, CMM, deputy director of meeting services, American Astronomical Society; and Laura Pilkenton, director, guest services & employee travel, Maritz Global Events.

Jennifer Gardner, creative director, Freeman, as Event Designer of the Year – This award honours a PCMA member for innovative event design. Gardner has a talent for translating ideas and feelings into experiences that produce tangible ROI. Her design for Freeman’s booth at ExhibitorLive allowed visitors to fully experience the customer journey in four steps.

Finalists for the award: Sally Ann Debolt, CMP, senior events manager, global events, Siemens Digital Industries; and Diane E. Kovats, CAE, CMP, executive director, International Society for Computational Biology.

Janet Cooper, CMP, director of meetings and convention services, RSNA, as Digital Experience Strategist of the Year – This award recognizes a digital event pioneer, change-maker and trendsetter. Cooper has been called a pioneer in the hybrid event space for her innovation and risk-taking. She has grown RSNA’s live stream sessions from nine to more than 200 in less than a decade and created one of the largest online events without compromising participation at one of the largest face-to-face medical conferences.

Finalists for the award: Ken Holsinger, vice president of data solutions, Freeman; and Roberta Odebrecht, DES, CMP, account director, K.I.T. Group.

Elisa Sandoval Wong, CMP, HMCC, account director, The St. Regis San Francisco and Northern California Chapter, for Outstanding Service to a Chapter – This award honours a chapter member for exemplary leadership, passion and dedication. Sandoval Wong was unflappable when she unexpectedly stepped into the president role for PCMA’s Northern California Chapter. At the time, she was transitioning from chapter administrator to president-elect. Since then, she has pursued engagement opportunities for chapter members, created chapter efficiencies and identified improvements in chapter structure.

Finalists for the award: Debra Maines, CMP-HC, senior manager, sponsorship development & events, A. Fassano & Company, Greater Philadelphia Chapter; and Meagan Prescott, CMP, assistant vice president of conference and events, Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA), New York Chapter.